Protomen - the Comm Forum Index
<  Brothers and Sisters in Arms  ~  Need help with a keyboard rig
Pezinator
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:56 pm  Reply with quote

Heya! Next year's my 18th birthday, and I'm getting 500 worth of keyboard. I'm a composer, and I want to eventually be good enough for banding, and I have no idea where to start. The one I use currently is an old Clavinova, and I'll be leaving home so that will have to stay.

So... any ideas/tips?

SlitheryDee
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:21 pm  Reply with quote

Make sure you get a keyboard that has a USB jack in it - most do these days, but you can plug your keyboard into your laptop or PC or what say you, and you can do all sorts of fun programming and composing with a combination of the two (for my composing, I use Finale - an awesome (but very expensive) program, and for recording and mixing I use Reaper, which is freeware). As for a specific model, I haven't looked at new models in a while. I've had good experiences with Yamaha keyboards if you're looking in the cheap-o range, otherwise there's Korg, Roland and Moog are the three big brands. I've had very good experiences with Korg, but I've never used the other two. I love the sound and quality of Moog products (I hear they are very well made), so if/when I get the money I'm probably gonna invest in a Moog.

SlitheryDee
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:22 pm  Reply with quote

But this being a Protomen board, the correct choice is to opt for a Keytar.

Pezinator
PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:57 pm  Reply with quote

SlitheryDee wrote:

Yea, I was going to get a keytar with the money from my job.

And then come to America

GET THE MOTHER GOOSE SIGNED!

But I have a budget of 500 to play with Wink

Edit: Also, what good keytar for less than 200 would be worth it?

Oooh. I hope I get good enough to actually learn to play some of the synth parts of the Protomen. Dream come true, performing it with friends.

brightshininglie